Hands-On Driving Program

Behind the Wheel Driving is for anyone that needs actual driving experience. Our course is suitable for first time drivers, mature drivers, and road test preparation. We can personalize the program to meet your requirements.

The first few hours of driving instruction are the most difficult. At the North Central Florida Safety Council, safety is our number one priority. We are dedicated to providing training to help students be the best drivers they can be. All instructors are State Certified.

We provide:

  • Experienced, Professional State of Florida-approved Instructors
  • Behind-the-Wheel Instruction with Dual-Controlled Brake
  • Pre-Instruction and Evaluation
  • In-Traffic Driving Instruction

OUR HANDS-ON DRIVING PROGRAM OFFERS HANDS-ON DRIVING TO HELP YOU MEET YOUR DRIVING NEEDS.

  1. Students will receive seven hours of hands-on instruction with the 4 session drive package. (View more course options below.)
  2. This is a one-on-one program: There will be only one student in the car with the instructor for behind the wheel instruction.
  3. The instructor will evaluate the student driver’s abilities before driving on the road and in actual traffic conditions. None of the instruction is simulated.
  4. Students receive a certificate from the Safety Council upon completion of eight hours of instruction. The certificate can be used as proof of professional training.
  5. Students are allowed to use the NCFSC car for the DMV driving test. Students must go online and make an appointment with the DMV and then coordinate that lesson/appointment with the NCFSC.
Course Options & Fees
3-IN-3 PACKAGE $252 (3 crashes in three years) as specified by statute
1 DRIVING SESSION $102
2 SESSION DRIVE PACKAGE $202 DMV test may be scheduled and includes use of our car.
3 SESSION DRIVE PACKAGE $302 DMV test may be scheduled and includes use of our car.
4 SESSION DRIVE PACKAGE $402 DMV test may be scheduled and includes use of our car.
8 SESSION DRIVE PACKAGE $802 DMV test may be scheduled and includes use of our car.
PREMIUM PACKAGE $1,202 Includes 12 drives, advanced city and highway driving instruction, adverse weather conditions road training & advanced situational awareness training behind the wheel.
Single 3-Hour Driving Lesson $152 *Includes pickup and drop off if needed
Student Packages

College Student Package

  • Includes pickup and drop off at Santa Fe College and UF
  • Drives may be scheduled to begin at 8:00 am or 10:00 am or 1:00 pm
  • DMV test may be scheduled and includes use of our car.
3 DRIVE PACKAGE $327
4 DRIVE PACKAGE $427
Single 3-Hour Driving Lesson *includes pickup and drop off if needed $150

 

High School Student Package

  • Includes pickup and drop off at school or home
  • Drives may be scheduled to begin between 3:00 pm and 3:30 pm.
  • DMV test may be scheduled and includes use of our car.
4 DRIVE PACKAGE $452
6 DRIVE PACKAGE $652
8 DRIVE PACKAGE $852

Hands-On driving course calendar

<< Nov 2018 >>
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2

Please note that classes for the Hands-On Driving Program are booked on a course calendar separate from the other classes.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What are some topics and skills that will be covered?

Below is a partial list of topics and skills that are covered.

  • Basic Skills: Maneuvers
  • Proper Techniques: Lane Changes, Passing, Merging Into Traffic
  • Good Judgment: Risk Management
  • Responsible Driving Habits
  • Defensive Driving Techniques
  • Avoiding Internal/External Distractions
  • How To Handle Emergencies
  • “Under The Hood:” Oil, Window Cleaner, Wipers, Brake Fluid, Coolant, Power Steer-ing Fluid, Tire Pressure
  • How To Steer Properly
  • Blind Spots: Crash Avoidance
  • Using Mirrors
  • Stop Signs
  • Turns: Curves
  • Backing
Who will be teaching?

A certified State of Florida approved instructor teaches the course. Each instructor has been through various levels of driver’s education instructor train-ing.

What kind of vehicle will the student drive?

The student will drive a vehicle approved by the State of Florida. The vehicle is equipped with dual control brakes for the safety of both the instructor and student.

Is there a prerequesite?

The student will need to have obtained a learner’s permit.

Am I going to need insurance?

The Safety Council provides all necessary insurance for the student driver, the instructor, and the vehicle.

How will I get to the lesson?

Students are responsible for their own transportation to the Safety Council. *Limited pick-up/drop-off available, call for more information.

Will I take the State of Florida Driver’s Road Exam in this program?

No. Students must make an appointment at the local DHSMV to arrange for a road test. Council car is available for test use for a lesson fee with an instructor.

Will I receive an insurance discount?

Parents and adult students should check with their insurance agent to determine if this course qualifies them for a discount.